So Much To Do

And so little time. *sighs*

Two weeks on since my last post, and things have been extremely hectic. And that is an understatement since I am totally bogged down with work. Not my day job of course, but with what I call my night job: writing.

NaNoWriMo is now moving into its 19th day, which means that there is less than two weeks left before the month finishes and I will officially know whether or not I have it in me to be at least a half-decent writer of fiction. But the thing is, I already know I can!

Sort of.

Since I started on Day 1, and now through till Day 18 last night, I have typed up 38,316 words for my original fantasy novel which I mentioned in my last post. To put that word count into a proper perspective, NaNoWriMo asks that you do at least 1,667 words a day so that you can finish this short novel on time. So with that in mind, I’ve actually been writing more than 2,100 words a day and I am on track to finish the novel by the 24th, which will be six days early. I’ve had a few days where I’ve typed up a fair bit beyond the required daily target so that has really helped a lot.

It is a hellish schedule though since I am making it all up as I go along. My characters have been doing odd things I never expected them to be doing and the plot seems to be a self-aware beast that is off on its own track. Some characters even add themselves to the story out of nowhere and do things I didn’t know they were going to just a minute before! It is sort of driving me crazy. Is this how the experienced authors do things?

I hope so. Because otherwise it means that I am definitely losing my mind.

But that’s ok too. This is a LOT of fun. I tried a “plan & write” approach with my Deathwatch novel over summer and that didn’t work out too well. So this change is really helping. I mean come on, I’ve written about 40% of a full-length novel in 18 days already where I was struggling to do three chapters over a period of two and a half months before!

So yes, I like this approach. I have another novel in the works, a 40k novel this time that I am going to get ready for the submissions window next year (I hope it is next year) and I’m mixing the two approaches for this one. No heavy planning, but I will be laying out a synopsis before I sit down to properly write this thing and then mix it all up.

In other news, I have now posted two reviews on The Founding Fields. The first one is for Aaron Dembski-Bowden’s Night Lords novel Soul Hunter which is the first in the series. You can find it here. The second one is for Gav Thorpe’s Horus Heresy audio drama Raven’s Flight. You can find it here. Response has been quite positive to both of them and I will be publishing my next review sometime this week.

If you notice, the formatting of both is quite different from the reviews on the blog. If I am honest, I like the layout for TFF better. It is more stylish and snazzy. These reviews are also a little bit more detailed since I am now writing for a more professional, shall we say, site. So yeah. Have fun reading them!

Like I mentioned on the blog last time, the Bolthole was getting a blog and it has arrived!

The Bloghole: Scribbling of the Damned, as we are calling it, will be where we post Black Library news, the latest news from the Bolthole itself, hopefully some kind of exciting competitions, and lots of and lots of guest posts from various forumites as well as Black Library staffers and authors themselves. Not to mention actual interviews with these people!

Currently we have interviews with Sarah Cawkwell of The Gildar Rift fame and Submissions Editor Laurie Goulding up. I am also in talks with three more authors for interviews. Expect to be surprised well and good. You can find these interviews here and here. The mod team is pretty excited about all this so stay tuned.

As you all know, I am also a contributor on Paul Colbourne’s blog, 24FPS which is a movie reviews blog. In a break from, umm, tradition I have posted the first ever Indian Film review on the site. It is for the newly released film Rockstar, starring Ranbir Kapoor and newcomer Nargis Fakhri. You can find the review here. In short though, I recommend this film for everyone. The music is great, the plot is great, the acting is great. It is an excellent movie and in only some 9-10 days of being released, has been declared a success. So yay!

Another new installment of my on-going fanfic, Sons of Corax has now been posted on the forum by the way, so be sure to check that out here. It is actually a first part of what has turned into a rather large chapter, so don’t worry, you’ll be finding out what happens next soon enough. Once I get done with NaNoWriMo that is 🙂

That’s all I got for now. And enjoy this link. Make sure to zoom in on the image!

http://www.blacklibrary.com/Blog/Where-angels-fear.html

Posted on November 19, 2011, in 24FPS, Age of Dusk, Bolthole, Book Reviews, Review Central, Sons of Corax and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

