The Ragnarok Chronicles (Teaser)

Another short, zipping-by post for you all. I didn’t mention this in my September Report but I am going to be participating in the National Novel Writing Month for all of November. In a change from last year’s attempt, where I wrote a sort of traditional sword-and-sorcery epic fantasy, I am working on a science fantasy this time. I’m calling the project Ragnarok Chronicles at the moment and the first installment is going to be a novella-length story I’m calling Cloak of Secrecy. This project is a Norse mythology inspired science fantasy set thousands of years in the future, in a galaxy that is dominated by humanity and is devoid of any sentient alien races. I’m still working on that high concept but just like Project Dharmayoddha, this one is really exciting too! Here’s a teaser of my Scrivener screen. Note that I’ve already put in the notes for Part 1 and the first four chapters.

Going to be digging into a lot of Norse mythology for this one since the Norse Gods and the Giants are quite central to the entire narrative. My principal protagonist is a guy named Arnil Tyrias, a high-ranking officer for the CIA/FBI/Police Department analog organisation that I’m calling Sigvalds at the moment. The story will follow him as he investigates a series of murders on the planet Hermandr and comes to a startling conclusion about the role of the gods and monsters in recent Human history, the last 600-700 years.

That’s all I can share at the moment but look out for stuff in the coming weeks!

Posted on October 16, 2012, in 2012 Writing Challenge, General, NaNoWriMo, Original Work. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nothing like a Nordic version of ‘American Gods’ (god-wise) recycled in space, eh?

    So do you think its worth it to participate NaNoWriMo, no matter what the final results are? I’m seriously debating whether or not to join in the action this year.

    Like

    • 13 days left for prep. Go ahead and give it a try. As I said in the post from last year, I easily did 60,000+ words and that was when I winged it all! Yeah, the zero draft kinda sucks but I have my skeleton all there. Just need to meat it up and make everything flow. Which is tough, but not impossible.

      Like

Leave a Reply

