Justice League 3000 #5 (Comics Review)

After Justice League 3000 #4, I found myself in an odd place. This was a title that I kind of wanted to continue reading, but the story and the art just weren’t clicking together for me. I kind of love all the twists and turns of the book but the story just isn’t all that interesting. There are some good bits of course, like the alien vistas and what not, but mostly none of it is really working for me. And yet I keep coming back, month after month, for something I know not what. A guilty pleasure? Probably that’s the reason.

Justice League 3000 #5, released this week, exemplifies and typifies my problems with this series. It introduces (and reintroduces) two new characters and builds up on all the revelations from the previous issue, revelations which were hinted at earlier but never really formalised. And now the Justice League of the 31st century has more troubles on its hands than it can handle, and none of it is pretty in any way. Compounding the problems is that Howard Porter is not on this issue, instead we have two guest artists with writer Keith Giffen doing art breakdowns. Big, big jump in the art styles and again, none of it worked for me.

Justice League 3000 05

As you can no doubt tell from the cover itself, especially if you know what has happened in the previous issues, the new character is Firestorm and the character being reintroduced is Flash. However, this is not the Firestorm we know, even more than how the entire League isn’t made up of the same characters as those from the 21st century, and part of that is due to the process of how these heroes were… resurrected by Cadmus’ Wonder Twins. And as for Flash, he has already died once in this series, and now he is back, putting himself in danger yet again, even though he knows full well how he died and for what.

I am really sorry to say that this might be the worst issue of the series to date. Don’t get me wrong, I loved Firestorm in this issue, especially how well he is portrayed and how different he is from the Firestorm I’ve been reading about in the “present-time” JL comics, but that’s really it. Beyond that the issue offered me nothing else to latch on to. The Wonder Twins are spiralling down the rabbit hole and they just don’t realise how deep they are going, or that there is no bottom. They are impulsive and argumentative with each other, none of which helps matters any and thus the reborn heroes are in even more danger than they realise since their creators are seriously dysfunctional.

Following the revelations last issue, I was full prepared for some more big revelations in this issue, or possibly some kind of a change in the status quo that has been in effect since the first page of the first issue. But none of that happened. In fact, the story has practically stalled out and very little actually happens in this issue. Quite regrettable. I usually like Keith Giffen’s writing, and J. M. DeMatteis is one of my favourite writers, but for some reason neither of them is working for me on this title. The characters are mostly bland, and the story is just plodding along, aimless and purposeless.

And instead of offering up some kind of a closure by the end of this issue, we get yet another mega-villain added to the mix, which messes up things even further and just raises the stakes yet again without offering the characters any kind of relief.

On the art side, we have Raymund Bermudez and Wayne Fauchner as guest pencillers with Hi-Fi on colours and Travis Lanham on letters. And as mentioned, Keith Giffen does the art breakdowns. Howard Porter, who is the series artist, does only the cover this time and I have to say that while the cover is still somewhat problematic, his Firestorm is absolutely badass. Bermudez and Fauchner do a great job with the character in the interiors but they end up dropping the ball on pretty much everyone else. Superman’s hair-do has completely changed under their pencils and the Wonder Twins just look horrible now. They look less like healthy young adults and more sick fifty-year olds with super-exaggerated expressions. Just totally not workable.

Overall, I’m more disappointed than I expected to be. I think I just might drop the series from my pull-list now.

Rating: 5/10

More Justice League 3000: #1, #2, #3, #4.

Posted on April 12, 2014, in Comics Reviews, Review Central and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

