Grimm Fairy Tales #0 FCBD 2014 (Comics Review)

Much as with Valiant Comics, I am beginning to explore more of the offerings from Zenescope as well. None of the comics I’ve read from the publisher to date have been bad, they have been quite good in fact, and their Grimm Fairy Tales setting is something that I’m actually keen on reading more of. Seeing a different side to all the classic fairy tales, with new monsters, gender reversals, new mysteries, all sorts of crossovers and events, that’s what it is all about. Recently I read one of their latest series, Helsing #1, and it provided quite a bit of an interesting setup for the larger Grimm-verse and that piqued my curiosity further.

As part of its FCBD 2014 offering, Zenescope released Grimm Fairy Tales #0 on Saturday, which is supposed to tie-in to their upcoming Age of Darkness event. It is an interesting story on its own, that deals with old monsters returning and the heroes of the present getting together to stop them, and I really liked it. I’m very out of touch with the title since I’ve only read the very first arc, but I’m really intrigued by this story and what it heralds. Plus, I did like the artwork, so that’s something as well.

Grimm Fairy Tales FCBD 2014From what I can tell of some of the recent comics that Zenescope has released, we are in the pre-release phase of the Age of Darkness event, with books like Neverland – Age of Darkness already out. My knowledge of the publisher’s releases is extremely limited, so I can’t say how the event is going to proceed, but I think that there’s going to be a separate series for it, what will be the core series of the event. And if not, then I guess that it will all be in the pages of Grimm Fairy Tales and that’s just fine for me too. I’ve jumped on new publishers with the release of their event comics before, so this is going to be no different, except no traditional superheroes, so that’s fun.

This issue itself obliquely follows Sela Mathers, who is one of the guardians of the Grimm-verse. The narrative is framed as Sela going through an old record of the exploits and reign of destruction of the Bloodknights, although that doesn’t become evident until much later in this issue. When it starts off, we see a rather typical fantasy setting with an army of knights about to assault their enemy the Dark Queen, but stopped when a being of unknown power and provenance intervenes. This being turns out to be a Bloodknight, a creation of the Dark Queen herself, and slaughter follows. The story itself isn’t so interesting here, as much as what it promises for the future, i.e., for the upcoming event.

Sela Mathers and her ally Shang have the odious responsibility of finding a way to stop the indestructible Bloodknights, and they have no clue where to look first. In that context, the first part of the issue is merely setting the stage for how powerful these monsters are, monsters whose only sole purpose is to kill heroes like Sela and Shang. They were extinct for thousands of years but since the Dark Queen is back, they are going to return as well and none of it is pretty.

On one level, I really liked this issue. I liked fantasy stories and mysteries and monsters and valiant heroes and what not, so this was right up my alley. But the story was also quite simplistic, there wasn’t any exciting twist to it, not the kind I was hoping for anyway. Joe Brusha’s writing is decent, but without that element of excitement, its not all that good.

The artist for this issue is Sheldon Goh, with colours by Grostieta and letters by Jim Cambell. Much as with the story, the art isn’t all that exciting and the scenes are pretty standard indeed. But when a Bloodknight enters the picture, that’s when things change. I liked the designs of these monsters. They are fierce and unrelenting, much as the fire that is their motif it seems. But other than that, standard stuff really. And I can’t even say that there’s anything particular Grimm-verse about it, not the kind of thing you find in the Neverland and Wonderland books for example.

The FCBD issue also includes previews of the Dark Queen and the Robyn Hood one-shots, which provided some nice context of the overall story and, once again, have some decent artwork. All I can say is that I definitely want to read more of this event, and that I will be checking out the Grimm Fairy Tales Annual 2014 when it is released.

Rating: 8/10

More Grimm Fairy Tales: Alice in Wonderland Vol.1, Helsing #1, Myths & Legends Vol.1.

Posted on May 7, 2014, in Comics Reviews, Review Central and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

Leave a Reply

