Future’s End: Green Lantern Corps and New Suicide Squad (Comics Review)

From my reading thus far, the second week of Future’s End one-shots hasn’t been as overwhelmingly positive as the first week. Many titles seem to have suffered from the oddest stories being told, partly because few of them have actually tied in to the larger Future’s End story. They are mostly just dealing with their featured characters five years into the future and that’s it. Kind of a shame, but hey, I’m still picking up a lot of titles that I wouldn’t have otherwise, and that’s great, I tell ya, since it allows me to easily sample a wide variety of DC’s ongoing titles, with a rather low risk attached.

Green Lantern Corps: Future’s End #1 and New Suicide Squad: Future’s End #1 are two of the odder titles I’ve read this week, though not by much. They feel very natural extensions of their respective titles, though I haven’t read a single issue of the New 52 version of Green Lantern Corps, though I’ve been keeping up with the newly rebooted Suicide Squad title. The former is an interesting issue in many ways, but flawed to a great degree while the latter is a fully self-contained story that actually does impress, more than I’d thought would be possible.

FE - Green Lantern Corps - New Suicide SquadAs I said above, I haven’t read a single issue of the New 52 version of the Green Lantern Corps and thus I’m really not familiar with whatever has been going on in either that title or the other “Green Lantern” books since I’m reading none of them right now, especially after having given up on Green Lantern last year. As such, a lot of what happens in Green Lantern Corps: Future’s End #1 was confusing for me, other than the fact that John Stewart experienced a really personal tragedy five years ago and that it has made him into one of the most ruthless of Green Lanterns. In the Future’s End “present” he really is at the peak of that ruthlessness and being a jerk, as the opening pages indicate.

As that cover indicates, this issue is about John Stewart becoming a part of the Indigo Tribe. If I’m honest, that is completely the wrong approach for this as it pretty much gives away the ending of the story here. Good thing is that the journey is halfway decent, otherwise I’d be seriously pissed with that cover. Either way, I liked Van Jensen’s characterization of John Stewart. The character gets a lot of focus in the story and while we don’t always get to see the more personal side of him, his aggression and ruthlessness translated really well. It was just that the story itself felt weak and uninspired to me, although that could be down to my unfamiliarity with the title in its current form.

The pencillers on this issue are Igor Lima & Ruy Jose, Rodney Buchemi and Geraldo Borges. Marcelo Maiolo is the colourist, Dave Sharpe is the letterer and cover is by Francis Portela and Tomeu Morey. Given the number of artists on this issue, there is often a fair bit confusion in the artwork because of the differences between the pencillers’ styles and the inking as well. The colours are much better and more consistent however, so that was great.

Not sure if I’d recommend this issue, but it is a worth a read if you are into Green Lantern Corps/John Stewart. And I’m really confused if this is meant to jive with Green Lantern: Future’s End #1 or not. That is never made clear, which was a shame.

Rating: 5/10

New Suicide Squad: Future’s End #1 begins on a very bleak note. We see that Deadshot, Black Manta and Harley Quinn have changed irreparably. The government tried to improve on them and their natures, by either grafting superior tech on their bodies or subjecting them to extreme drugs and the results have not been pretty. The team is broken in both body and mind, and this is where Amanda Waller of the future comes in, like an action hero straight out of a high-budget Hollywood action movie.

Sean Ryan’s script is fairly interesting here and I did like it, even the “intro” first half which dealt with the team getting back together under Amanda Waller. These are all characters I love quite a bit and Sean Ryan does all of them justice in one way or another in the regular series, but here it seems as if the writer has gone for an extreme. I mean, I see the sense of it, as explained by the in-universe comments, but there’s something about it that screams false to me.

To be honest, I did like the issue because Sean Ryan’s script told a fun story, but the details felt weak and unrealistic to me. Combine that with the fact that the cover to this issue is completely misleading, and the problems emerge one by one. Sean Ryan throws in quite a few twists to the story but they don’t really address the weaknesses of the script and that’s a shame.

Andre Coelho is the penciller here with Scott Hanna as inker, Blond as colourist and Taylor Esposito as letterer with Jeremy Roberts and Blond on the cover (which is actually a great cover I feel). The art is totally rocking. Sean Ryan’s bleak vision of five years from now is realized really well by the artists and the fight scenes are really great, especially the extended scene between Deadshot and an old, fierce rival.

This is kind of a sad story, but I liked it well enough.

Rating: 7.5/10

More New Suicide Squad – #1.

Posted on September 14, 2014, in Comics Reviews, Review Central and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

