Future’s End: Sinestro and Superman (Comics Review)

This past week DC’s month-long Future’s End came to a close and it was certainly an eclectic mix of titles, from all that I’ve read so far. But there were indeed some titles that I enjoyed this week, and as I continue my readings this week, for I still have quite a few titles to get through overall, I’m expecting more to pop up. In the Green Lantern and Super-family titles I’ve had to face quite a bit of disappointment in particular, with little that has been good, and going into the final week, with the pending release of the Sinestro and Superman one-shots, I was holding up to some expectations.

Thankfully I wasn’t disappointed too much as it turns out. Sinestro: Future’s End #1 by Cullen Bunn is easily one of the best titles that I’ve seen this month, while Superman: Future’s End #1 by Dan Jurgens is mostly good though there were some problematic things in it. In a strange bit of contrast, Sinestro isn’t a series that I’ve kept up with lately, though I really liked the first couple issues, whereas with Superman‘s reboot under Geoff Johns I’ve been having a ton of fun on the title. Sadly, Geoff didn’t write this month’s one-shot but Dan does a decent enough job and since it ties in directly to Future’s End, it is a much stronger story than it appears to be.

FE - Sinestro - Superman

Cullen Bunn’s Sinestro: Future’s End #1, well, that was a home-run. Big, bloody, epic home run.

Sinestro: Future’s End #1 deals with Sinestro in a future where he is held as prisoner in the galaxy’s worst prison, reduced to a menial labourer working for the prison authorities. The issue involves him breaking out of the prison, thanks to some help from old friends among the Sinestro Corps, and then taking his vengeance on those who have wronged him. Sinestro is one of my favourite villains in the DC-verse. Time and time again I’ve read something with Sinestro and I’ve almost always come away impressed.

Cullen Bunn’s one-shot here is some of the best writing with Sinestro that I’ve seen in a while and the thing is that Cullen has totally won me over with this one. And I kind of feel bad that I haven’t kept up with the title, which is a state of affairs that I intend to remedy this coming NCB-week. His characterization of the leader of the Sinestro Corps is right on point and we also get to learn more about the Paling and the non-GL galactic peacekeepers who ply their trade all over the galaxy.

The issue also ends on a great note, with a really freaky cliffhanger that I sincerely hope is dealt with at some point because it is too epic to just leave hanging like this. It has some huge implications for the future of the Green Lantern titles I feel, and it would be almost criminal not to do anything more with it.

Igor Lima is the penciller on this issue, with Ruy Jose on inks, Jason Wright on colours, Dave Sharpe on letters and Kevin Nowlan on the excellent cover. I liked the art in this issue, largely because of how awesome and kickass Sinestro looks here, but also because the artists get to have fun with a good amount of members of the Sinestro Corps and seeing them all together like this was a great high. And the character designs, especially when the action takes place on the prison world, are really good too, with lots of fine details and a great amount of diversity between the characters.

A rock-solid issue I dare say.

Rating: 9.5/10

More Sinestro#1, #2.

Everything is a game of expectations these days in comics. I purposely avoid looking at advanced solicits because I don’t like to spoil myself that way. So the fact that Dan Jurgens wrote this month’s Superman: Future’s End #1 instead of Geoff Johns was surprising for me. And soon as I saw his name, I kind of groaned because Dan isn’t a writer whose work I’ve enjoyed before, specifically his run on the title in its first year. But surprise, surprise, he continued the recent plot from Future’s End where it was revealed that Billy Batson aka Shazam has been masquerading as Superman for the last few years, and he gave the character a good run.

Soon after we had the revelation, as readers, Lois Lane went and published the story and caused a sensation everywhere. It was kind of a low-blow, as far as I’m concerned, and not something that I personally liked as well. In this issue, Dan Jurgens goes to some great lengths to expand on why and how Lois made that decision. It is kind of redeeming in a way but I also remained unconvinced by the full measure of Lois’ arguments.

More so since, as Shazam tells her here, it has caused problems for him when he is out there in the city, trying to keep people alive and look out for them all. But then, this is an issue that focuses on him as a character and I liked Dan’s take on him. He really tries to get into the character’s psychology and for me, he mostly succeeds. One thing is for sure, the fallout of the cliffhanger from this issue is going to cause even more waves in the comic month of Future’s End comics, because it is HUGE. I don’t think a cliffhanger like this was setup properly, but it is what it is.

Lee Weeks is the penciller here, with Dave McCaig on colours, Travis Lanham on letters, and Weeks and McCaig working together on the cover. Week’s artwork here is quite different from the regular series and that’s to be expected since this issue deals with completely different characters. But he and his art team are no less impressive than John Romita Jr. and his team from the main series. His pencilwork is bold and defined, really capturing the body language and all of the characters. If the art slips up anywhere, it in Lois’ design, since she is inconsistent from page to page and the colours in general are a little too dark and muted for my tastes. But he visual atmosphere of the issue is still impressive.

A fairly great issue that I’d recommend highly if you are reading Future’s End.

Rating: 8.5/10

More Superman #32, #33-34.

Posted on September 29, 2014, in Comics Reviews, Review Central and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

