Earth 2: World’s End #1 (Comics Review)

Earlier this year, DC started putting out weekly comics once again, with Batman: Eternal being the first, and then in May followed the second one, Future’s End. While the former takes place in the current DC timeline, at least for the Gotham-centric characters, the latter takes place five years from the present timeline and is a full-on superhero/supervillain epic. A third weekly was also set to come out however, and tie-in a little bit to Future’s End. Called World’s End, this new weekly series had a really weird premise at first, and was one of the reasons why I passed on it initially.

But now it is here. Earth 2: World’s End #1 is basically a giant recap of 2 years of Earth 2 and World’s Finest, an effort to catch up readers on what has happened on those titles and how all of that is just a setup for this new series. I had low expectations of this series to start with, but given that I felt the same for Future’s End at first but came to really love it, I was willing to give World’s End a chance. And by the first issue at least, it is a big disappointment. There are retcons aplenty and the tie-in with Future’s End is basically non-existent and is essentially retconned.  The art is decent though, and that’s kind of enough to bring me back for a second issue, although I’m not sure if I really should.

Earth 2 - World's End 001I stopped reading Earth 2 soon after James Robinson left last year and Tom Taylor was brought in, one because I wasn’t a fan of some things that Taylor did on Injustice and two, I didn’t like the direction the title was going in, abandoning almost everything that Robinson had built up to that point, quite handsomely so. The same happened to me on World’s Finest, although the title lost its luster for me soon after its first year of publication. I just couldn’t handle the inane stories that Paul Levitz was churning out. So it is fair to say that I’ve missed out on a lot of stuff from those titles. As such, Earth 2: World’s End #1 is a great recap of events I’ve missed out on, but also the ones that I’ve witnessed.

But all the same, I didn’t like it for several reasons. And the most important of those is the retcons.

For one, this new issue contradicts Paul Levitz’s World’s Finest #0 in which we saw that Selina Kyle died much before the war with Apokolips happened. In the retcon, Selina is killed by Parademons during the invasion. This is a completely stupid retcon since it invalidates how Helena Wayne and Kara Zor-L first met, in World’s Finest #0.

Second, there seems to be a big contradiction here in terms of Terry Sloan’s participation in the invasion of Apokolips, and this comes through when you compare this issue and James Robinson’s Earth 2 #0. I just don’t get why the changes were made at all. The new issue makes Terry come across as a distant traitor to events, rather than being right there in the trenches with the Trinity, and this is something I really didn’t like since Jim’s issue was perfect.

Yeah, there are some neat things here, but then me liking them has more to do with the fact that I actually haven’t kept up with the Earth 2 and World’s Finest series so I don’t know what’s happened in them and therefore can’t judge. But even just generally, there is a huge contradiction in this issue when you compare it to the recent Future’s End #21, where Red Arrow explains why the war between Earth 2 and Earth Prime happened and how Apokolips is involved. If the “explanation” in Earth 2: World’s End is what I fear it to be, which is the most likely one at any rate, I’m going to be very, very disappointed.

There is an army of artists on this issue. Ardian Syaf, Sandra Hope, Danny Miki, Jorge Jimenez, Eddy Barrows, Eber Ferreira, Paolo Siqueira and Cam Smith as pencillers with breakdowns by Scott McDaniel. Letters by Dezi Sienty. Colours by John Kalisz, Allen Passalaqua and Jason Wright. Cover by Ardian Syaf, Jaime Mendoza and Tomeu Morey. The art is alright for the most part, but there are some changes that I didn’t like, such as the ones to Wonder Woman’s costume when you compare it to Earth 2 #0 and Earth 2 #1, where the pencils were by Nicola Scott. And the early pages have the characters’ eyes as very thin, almost non-existent in fact. And I didn’t like suited Terry Sloan either. But past that, this was kind of fun art-wise, and I can spare time for a couple more issues at least, only for the art.

This series is not off to a good start, though it shows small nuggets of promise.

Rating: 6/10

Posted on October 9, 2014, in Comics Reviews, Review Central and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

