12 Days of Best Covers of 2014: Day #1

Last year I started a seasonal “Best of…” list that focused on some of the best covers I saw that year, whether for novels or comics. And now, it being the same time of the year in the new year, it is an opportunity to bring the list back, more so since it was really popular when I started it.

The first of these “Best of…” book covers is actually a tie between William King’s Terrarch Chronicles #2: The Serpent Tower and Django Wexler’s Shadow Campaigns #1: The Thousand Names. None of these two are 2014 publications, which is usually how I do these lists, but I wasn’t particularly taken with the covers of the two 2014 books I did read, so here we are (Though, it should be mentioned that the mass paperback of The Thousand Names came out in July’14). I’ve long been a fan of William’s work for Black Library, and Terrarch Chronicles was his first self-published work, the first novel in the series being one of my favourites last year. And with Django’s debut from last year, I’ve become a big fan of his work too and will be reading the sequel in a few days, hopefully. Looking forward to that!

The first of these “Best of…” comics covers is another tie, owing more to how many more comics I began to read this year compared to previous years, each week. And the picks are the covers for Witchblade #172 by Stjepan Sejic and for Black Widow #2 by Phil Noto. The Witchblade is a character I’ve long been a fan, specifically its bearer Sara Pezzini and with Ron Marz coming back on the title last year, it proved to be a new fun era for the title in all respects. And on Black Widow, I’ve seen some of the best content from Marvel all-year, with the new title being matched in consistency only by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona’s Ms. Marvel.

So without further ado, hit the break to see both the covers in all their glory! The full list of all these covers is available here.

Terrarch Chronicles #2: The Serpent Tower by William King

Terrarch Chronicles - 02 - The Serpent Tower - William King

Cover art by Jan Patrik Krasny

Why: There’s something rather nostalgic about this cover that I really love. To be honest, I’ve had a tough time picking it out myself, so I can’t really explain it, but I look at the cover and I feel a thrill of anticipation with regards to what I can expect to find inside.

Helpful Links:

Shadow Campaigns #1: The Thousand Names by Django Wexler

The_Thousand_Names

Why: At first glance, this can look like a pretty normal cover, your eye focused almost entirely on the figure in question, and only the rock he is standing on at most past that. But, when you start looking deeper, you see the suggestions of a terrible war in the distance, and the figure’s impending action sequence starts to coalesce, making it a truly great cover.

Helpful Links:

Witchblade #172 by Ron Marz, Laura Braga, Betsy Gonia and Troy Peteri

Witchblade 172

Cover Art by Stjepan Sejic

Why: I’m a huge, huge fan of Stjepan’s work and his covers have always been stunning pieces, this one being no exception to that. In fact, I think this is one of his best covers of recent years and while the composition is not reflected in the story itself, it does make you wish otherwise.

Helpful Links:

Black Widow #2 by Nathan Edmondson, Phil Noto and VC’s Clayton Cowles

Black Widow 02

Cover Art by Phil Noto

Why: I fell in love with this issue the moment that I saw the cover, and thankfully the interiors didn’t disappoint either. I say this with hindsight, but Phil Noto is truly an amazing artist. While his work on the title initially made me a bit of a skeptic, I did come around quite soon and today I consider Phil to be one of the best artists in the industry, whether we talk interiors or covers.

Helpful Links:

Posted on December 14, 2014, in 12 Days of Best Covers of 2014, Book Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

