Daily Archives: December 14, 2012

NANP: Matters Dickensian

Lyndsay Faye, today’s guest on Names: A New Perspective, is another author that I’ve been waiting to read for quite a while now. If not for Mount Arcstoberead, I could get to it right now! The premise of her novel The Gods of Gotham is quite intriguing: 1845 New York, newly formed NYPD, murders, the worst slums of the city. Very exciting stuff. Police procedural type fiction isn’t typically my kind of reading, but as with all such cases, she comes highly recommended from the blogosphere. Given such a… contemporary historical setting for the novel, Lyndsay’s approach to names is just as fascinating as from any writer of SFF fiction.

Read the rest of this entry

Advent Reviews Day 13: Judge Dredd #1 by Duane Swierczynski

This year has seen me become quite the fan of the Judge Dredd franchise, from the movie to the audio dramas. I have a novel omnibus sitting on my desk, and I just recently finished reading the first issue of the new Judge Dredd comics being released by IDW Publishing, who are one of my favourite comics publishers. Judge Dredd himself has turned into one of my favourite characters ever, because of his personality, his attitude, and the entire mythos that’s been built around him over all these years. Duane Swierczynski’s comics are just one more outlet for all that goodness.

Read the rest of this entry